Mystery Blogger Award

As I was sitting here debating whether it’s time to blog again, I got a notification from the lovely J Lenni Dorner:

If this is not a sign to restart blogging, I don’t know what is 😉 So here it goes, my response and thank you to the nomination.

Three things about myself

As part of the nomination the first task is to tell you 3 things about myself. Are you ready?

1.

I am currently writing this in a quiet seaside town on the island of Rab, Croatia. I am here on holiday with mum and my brother and we’re having a very relaxing time. None of that pack-everything-into-a-week kind of performance holidays, the exact opposite: we sleep in, spend some quiet morning time with reading or watching a movie or going online and usually leave at around 1pm to discover what’s around. I’m loving it!

2.

I’m a photography buff. I’ll probably share more of my photos in the future as they will serve as prompts for my blog posts or stories. (Or not. I’ve been known to change my mind before 😉)

3.

I used to feel ashamed of it but I guess I’m more or less at peace with this fact now so I can publicly share with you: I’m not a native English speaker. (Gasps, I know 😁) I’d love to be but have only been speaking it since the age of 14. Love English and languages in general but I’m far from a language wizz. I wish I were but my mind is of a different opinion.

Now that’s out of the way, let’s tackle the questions I got from J Lenni Dorner:

Nominator’s questions

What is the most memorable trait or visual oddity of a fictional book character you’ve read? (Example: Harry Potter’s lightning bolt scar.)

That’s a tough one because I’m not that hung up on character’s appearance – I even catch myself skimming through those parts and sometimes make up my own mind so strongly, I would argue with the author when they mention the character’s short blonde hair on the pillow when I pictured them with long, black hair…

Recently I read A Court of Thorns and Roses from Sarah J Mass where one of the main characters had a permanent mask stuck to his face by means of a curse – now that was quite an unusual description so it stuck.

What most motivates you to buy a new book to read?

New adventures. I feel like I live a different life when reading a book, feel different emotions, travel different places. I love that freedom of being someone else without the risks or the work of me having to change. It has always been an escape from my own life as well.

How do YOU make an educated guess as to if a book by an author you haven’t read before will be “good” BEFORE you read any of it? (Number of books sold, number of reviews, average star rating, awards it received, friend suggests it, the cover, etc)

If I’m in a physical bookshop, I’m very much influenced by the cover – that’s what catches my eyes and stops me to take that book off the shelves. I then read the blurb and if I like it, I would read the first and the last couple pages. I know authors hate that but yeah, I’m guilty as charged.

On amazon I would use the recommended book list, go again to the blurb and if I like it, I would check the overall stars and at least one good and one bad review. That would give a pretty rounded picture.

But often (especially with non-fiction) I would check out a book based on recommendations from a friend or an article I read somewhere. I admit, I don’t regularly read book blogs but when I get around to do so, they can set me off on a reading journey as well.

What’s your favorite comfort food. (Pic? Recipe?)

Definitely pizza. It’s my big vice but I love it. Love the cheese, the base and my favourite is the garlic sour cream which is kinda specific to Eastern Europe (not just on pizza and not just with garlic). When I moved back home after 8 years, I would eat sour cream dishes every day, I had missed it so much 😁

Where do you look for blogging inspiration?

I don’t usually look (maybe that’s the problem) but I can find it anywhere – often on other blogs, in life, on a photo… Since here I am sharing my own thoughts about pretty much anything, it makes it easier.

Weird/funny question: Do you have a celebrity encounter story you can share?

Not long ago I was an avid fan of the band called The Script. I loved their music but what really drove me to them was the community of The Script Family, their fans. We chatted on twitter for months without meeting and then went to multiple gigs to see the band. Some of them I’m lucky to call my friends.

The Script had a big concert in their hometown, Dublin and fans came to see them from literally all over the world. So I thought it would be a great opportunity to organise a meetup and we did so in the benefit of a charity that is close to the band as well. We let the band know what’s happening and thanks to that the drummer came to the meetup, graciously taking photos with everyone and thanking for our support and contribution. It was one of my favourite moments, seeing the happy faces of those in attendance and the patience of that well-known musician.

My nominations

I would like to thank those who have regularly visited an commented on the blog:

Please visit them, you won’t be disappointed!

If you’ve been nominated, hope you’ll enjoy it. Please read the rules below, and answer the questions, hope you’ll like them!

Award rules

Rule 1: Put the award logo/image on your blog.

Rule 2: List the rules.

Rule 3: Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

Rule 4: Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well.

About the creator: Okoto Enigma’s blog The creator’s name, Enigma, means mystery, thus the title of the award.

Rule 5: Tell your readers three things about yourself.

Rule 6: Nominate 10 to 20 bloggers.

Rule 7: Notify those people.

Rule 8: Ask your nominee any five questions of your choice, plus one weird or funny question.

(And, obviously, answer what you were asked!)

The questions I have for my nominees are:

  1. Why do you blog? Do you have any specific goals? Have you reached any yet?
  2. Are you planning / dreaming about writing a book?
  3. Who is your favourite writer / blogger?
  4. Do you think blogging will stick around in the era of podcasts, videos, Snapchat etc?
  5. What do you consider the bravest thing you’ve ever done?

+1: If you could be an animal for a day, what would you choose and why?

Rule 9: Share a link to your blog’s best post.

My best post

According to my stats, my best post was Achievements and aspirations, the first in the A to Z challenge this year. It’s kinda hard for me to look back at this because those aspirations sadly remain unmet but I’m glad it resonated with my visitors.

Thank you

Thanks again J Lenni Dorner for thinking of me, it really gave me an inspiration to start back again. I’d also like to thank Okoto Enigma because I’m now playing with an idea to showcase my blogger friends regularly. And big thanks for all of you who take the time to get to know me a little better. Your presence is a gift.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Congratulations on the award and thank you for nominating my name. And yes, pizza is my vice too 😉 Unfortunately I’ve stopped doing award posts on my blog but I feel truly honoured that you nominated me because you thought me worthy of it. Have a happy blogging journey and don’t ever stop 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Miss Andi says:

      No worries Pradita, thanks for everything! Keep in touch for sure ☺

      Like

      1. I will… Absolutely 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations Andi!!

    Like

  3. Vidya Sury says:

    Thank you dearest Andi! ❤ What a lovely surprise to wake up to this beautiful Sunday! I enjoyed reading about you, and identify with some of the answers. It is a great feeling to be nominated by a peer for an award,and I will treasure this. I will enjoy answering your questions, and will let you know when my post is up! Thanks again! Much love to you!

    Like

  4. jlennidorner says:

    Glad you took part. Great answers!

    I’m going to answers yours here just because I like them.

    I blog to connect with my readers (or future readers or potential readers), hoping we’ll get to know each other and that they’ll find out interesting tidbits about my (to-be-published) books which will make them feel like they “know more” than average readers.

    I’ve published a non-fiction book in my name. I’ve written a fiction book and am polishing it now.

    My favorite writer… other than me, I have a few. But my favorite writer who I would also consider one of my favorite bloggers is Crystal. http://crystalcollier.blogspot.com/

    I certainly hope blogging sticks around because I’m mute and my religious beliefs prohibit photography. Then again, I’m a great recluse. LOL.

    Bravery … people tell me a lot of things I’ve done were brave acts. I didn’t do them because of that. It was because I was there and I guess it was a choice, but it didn’t feel like a choice. Like, “OMG, you survived that! You must have been really brave.” Really? Uhh… what was the other choice? Lying down to die? Well, anyway… I have scars from stepping between a (very stupid) man and a wolf. People called that brave. I saved him, but the wolf was the one I was actually looking out for, so there you go.

    It’s hard to pick an animal to be. On land, a lion. In the air, a falcon. In the water, a sperm whale. For anywhere… dragon.

    Like

  5. Thanks for the mention 🙂

    Like

Let's talk about this

