Exhorted to the limelight – by a hat…

After the uncharacteristically warm days, I woke up to a cloudy, wet morning. Still not particularly cold but the undecisiveness of the weather called for a more cautious choice of clothes. I don’t own an umbrella and didn’t feel like wearing a hooded coat since it was still quite warm so I had just the perfect excuse to wear a hat. I’ve got two, one a little quirky but still sensible and another that people call a “festival hat”:

Guess what happened? I went with the latter. (Yes, really. On a non-descript Wednesday.) I wore it all through the 45 minutes of public transport getting to work in the morning, then all the way through the other end of the city to give an English class and finally all the way home. 

It was weird. Even in a big city like Budapest, people notice hats – they are not that common in the every day life. I practically forced them to look at me. Me, who likes being invisible, stood in front of them, feeling like I was in the crossfire of stares. 

And I survived. 

I went, they looked, we passed each other and that was it. 

I’m not sure what my irrational fear expects from these situations. People calling out remarks? Staring long? Pointing and laughing? 

As I said it’s irrational. Of course none of those things happen. But it’s the picture fear paints. 

Thanks to yesterday, I now have a different picture to hold up to It: nothing bloody happens! 

Yes, we might stare a bit when we see someone unusual. Then we move on and forget them. That’s all it is. 

PS: Thank you for being here with me on this journey. Honestly, it really gives me a lot of energy, courage and motivation to put myself out there. 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Geraint Isitt says:

    You wear the hat well. It’s rare when a hat looks good on me. I have a few, but rarely wear them.

    Like

    1. Miss Andi says:

      Thank you, I love hats but because they are somewhat unusual I often shy away from wearing them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marie says:

    Hats are fun! I wear them quite often. They have a way of making rainy days a little brighter πŸ™‚ – Marie The Articulate Image

    Like

    1. Miss Andi says:

      I’m with you on that πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by today!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ann bennett says:

    I understand not wanting to be the center of attention. But a hat does call your name. You look good in your hat.
    Letter E, here I come.
    Hey, It’s Ann visiting from A to Z So Much to Choose From and
    Science Ladybug

    Like

    1. Miss Andi says:

      Thank you, that’s very nice of you!

      Like

  4. QP and Eye says:

    You look great Andi. I too love hats. I feel like I’m travelling incognito, stranger-in-a-strange land feeling. Others in quirky hats have my total permission to behave in extraordinary ways and have given myself permission to behave similarly.

    Like

  5. scr4pl80 says:

    I love hats but don’t think they look good on me. My hair is getting really thin though so I might try to find some that I can deal with. I like yours!

    Like

  6. AK.Prowling says:

    Once again, great post. Being in the limelight can be a pain for many (including me) but I’m glad you are getting over your fear.

    Like

  7. shalzmojo says:

    I love hats and yes it makes heads turn too. That attention can be a little disconcerting if you are like shy or extremely private. I love it and would urge you to do more such stuff. 😊
    Flower power

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You look wonderful with your hat Andi, perhaps you are starting a style statement in your city:)

    Like

  9. Wilma Payne says:

    Love the hat – and your courage to step out in it!

    Like

    1. Miss Andi says:

      Thank you ☺

      Like

Let's talk about this

